Big Bash League Winners List All Season

Cricket is a common sport in Australia and the people enjoy this sport a lot. The Australian cricket team is one of the strongest cricket teams in the world and is known to win some of the best tournaments worldwide. Cricket in Australia is highly appreciated which is why Cricket Australia introduced the Big Bash League which is a local tournament that takes place each year.

The Big Bash League which is also known as the KFC Big Bash League or BBL is an Australian cricket tournament which follows the Twenty20 cricket format. This tournament was founded by Cricket Australia in 2011. The tournament has been sponsored by the fast food chain KFC since the time is started in 2011. A number of people all over the country look forward to this tournament and book tickets in advance to watch their favorite teams play. Most of the teams are based on cities, so each city has a team and they support their team with all their heart. Some cities even have 2 teams, so the locals choose their favorite players in the teams and support them.

The Big Bash League matches are played in various cities of Australia during summer in the months of December and January. The Big Bash League is a popular event and is placed eighth on the list of the most attended sports leagues in the world.

Big Bash League Winners List

There are a total of eight teams that participate in the league out of which four of the teams have won the title at least once. The most successful teams in the tournament are the Perth Scorchers who have won this tournament two years in a row. They have also reached the finals in four out of the five seasons so far. The other winning teams include Sydney Sixers, Brisbane Heat and Sydney Thunder.

Considering the popularity of the BBL Cricket Australia has also planned to host an annual Christmas Day match in order to attract more crowds.

The Format

Since BBL begun the tournament has been following the same format each year except for the first year. While the first season had 28 group matches all the following seasons have 32 stage matches.

According to the current format, each team plays against all the other teams at least once during the tournament. The group stage is divided into 8 rounds where each team plays four matches.

The Teams

  • Adelaide Strikers
  • Brisbane Heat
  • Hobart Hurricanes
  • Melbourne Renegades
  • Melbourne Stars
  • Perth Scorchers
  • Sydney Sixers
  • Sydney Thunder

The Adelaide Strikers is one of the eight teams to participate in the BBL. The captain of this team is Brad Hodge and the coach is Jason Gillespie. The home ground for the strikers is the Adelaide Oval.

The Brisbane Heat is the local team that participates in the BBL. They are the local team for the city of Brisbane. The captain for the Brisbane Heat is Chris Lynn and the coach is Daniel Vettori. Brisbane Cricket Ground is their home ground.

The Hobart Hurricanes is the local team for the BBl that represents Hobart. They have been a part of the BBL since the time BBL launched. Their captain is Tim Paine and the coach is Damien Wright.

The Melbourne Renegades is the local team for Brisbane in the BBL. The captain for The Melbourne Renegades is Aaron Finch and the coach is David Saker. The home ground for this team is the Etihad Stadium.

The Melbourne Stars is the second local team for the city of Melbourne. This is one of the two cities that have two teams playing in the tournament. The captain for the Melbourne Stars is David Hussey and the coach is Stephan Flemming. Their home ground is the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

The Perth Scorchers is the local team for the city of Perth. This is the most successful team in BBL having won 2 seasons in a row. The captain of The Perth Scorchers is Adam Voges and the coach is Justin Langer. Their home ground is WACA Stadium.

The Sydney Sixers are the first local team for Sydney is the BBL. There are two teams that play the BBL tournament for Sydney. The captain of The Sydney Sixers is Moises Henriques and the coach is David Shipperd. Their home ground is the Sydney Cricket Ground.

The Sydney Thunder is the second team in the BBL tournament from Sydney. The captain for this team is Micheal Hussey and the coach is Paddy Upton. The home ground for the Sydney Thunder is the Sydney Showground Stadium.

Winner List

Season Final Final venue
Winner Result Runner-up
2011–12 Sydney Sixers
158/3 (18.5 overs)
Sixers won by 7 wickets Perth Scorchers
156/5 (20 overs)
WACA Ground
2012–13 Brisbane Heat
167/5 (20 overs)
Heat won by 34 runs Perth Scorchers
133/9 (20 overs)
WACA Ground
2013–14 Perth Scorchers
191/4 (20 overs)
Scorchers won by 39 runs Hobart Hurricanes
152/7 (20 overs)
WACA Ground
2014–15 Perth Scorchers
148/6 (20 overs)
Scorchers won by 4 wickets Sydney Sixers
147/5 (20 overs)
Manuka Oval
2015–16 Sydney Thunder
181/7 (19.3 overs)
Thunder won by 3 wickets Melbourne Stars
176/9 (20 overs)
Melbourne Cricket Ground
  • Add Your Comment