Champions League Twenty20 Winners List All Season

Champions League Twenty20 happened to be an international cricket tournament among the top domestic cricket playing nations enlisted under International Cricket Council (ICC). CTL was launched back in 2008, almost during the time Indian Premier League was inaugurated however the first successful event was held in 2009. Apparently, three major cricket playing nations India, South Africa and Australia owned the tournament, and the foundation was laid by the then ICC chairperson of International Cricket Council N. Srinivasan. Chief Operating Officer of the Champions League Twenty20 tournament was Sundar Raman.

Facts about Champions League Twenty20

  • Champions League Twenty20 has been discontinued in July 15, 2015 followed by a series of unsuccessful tournaments, lack of interest of the targeted audience which was youths mostly and also the sponsorship terms weren’t in favor of the arrangement.
  • While the tournament was on, the timeline for the event was between September and October. Unlike Indian Premier League, duration of Champions League Twenty20 had been much shorter – only about two or three weeks.
  • South Africa and Australia hosted the event.
  • The announced prize pool for Champions League Twenty20 was US$ 6 million. Among the overall budget, winning team of the tournament won US$2.5 million alone and the rest for other sectors. The prize pool amount was highest in a cricket premier league’s history.
  • Only the top 7 test playing nations had the allowance could have their best teams, apparently South Africa, India and Australia received more preference.

Winners by Seasons

Even though the Champions League Twenty20 tournament has been scrapped after the 2014 championship, yet there had been successful arrangements. Here’s a list of winners of the championship sorted by their happening year.

Season 1 (2008) – Cancelled due to the 2008 Mumbai attacks

The first season’s finale was supposed to be held at M.A Chidambaram Stadium at Chennai. There had been 8 teams competing in the whole tournament. However, the finals couldn’t take place due to a major terrorist attack in Mumbai known as the 2008 Mumbai Attacks.

Season 2 (2009) – New South Wales Blues

New South Wales Blues

Despite being the 2nd season, the 2009 season was actually the first successful season of Champions League Twenty20 championship. Champion of this year’s tournament was New South Wales Blues who scored 159/9 in 20 overs, and defeated Trinidad and Tobago. New South Wales Blues had won by 41 runs. Total 12 teams participated in 2009’s tournament.

Season 3 (2010) – Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings

Finals of the 2010 season was held in South Africa. Since India, Australia and South Africa got preference for the event hosting, the final venue was set at New Wanderers Stadium at Johannesburg. Chennai Super Kings was the winner of season 3, they have scored 132/9 in 19 overs while Warriors scored only 128/6 in 20 overs. Thus, Chennai Super Kings won the championship by 8 wickets. 10 teams played that year.

Season 4 (2011) – Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians

The season 4 of CLT20 was held in M.A Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The champion team of the 4th arrangement was Mumbai Indians; they have scored 139 all out in 20 overs. Royal Challengers Bangalore was the runner-up team scoring 108 all out in 19.2 overs; Mumbai Indians won the match by 31 runs. 10 teams played in the tournament.

Season 5 (2012) – Sydney Sixers

Sydney Sixers

5th season of the CLT20 was again held in South Africa, at the New Wanderers Stadium of Johannesburg. Sydney Sixers won the champions scoring 124 for no loss at 12.3 overs, and Highveld Lions score 121 all out in 20 overs. They were beaten by Sixers by 10 wickets. 10 teams participated in the 2012 arrangement.

Season 6 (2013) – Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians won the Champions title in CLT20 season 6 held in 2013. The venue for the finals was Feroz Shah Kotla Ground in New Delhi. Mumbai Indians had scored 202 for 6 wickets in 20 overs, and they have beaten Rajasthan Royals by 33 runs in the match.

Season 7 (2014) – Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings

The 2014 season was the last successful Champions League Twenty20 tournament held. M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore hosted the event and Chennai Super Kings was the champion scoring 185/2 in 18.3 overs. Kolkata Knight Riders became the runner-up of the tournament. After 7th season, the game was discontinued on July 2015.


Though the Champions League Twenty20 tournament has been cancelled, yet it left a pretty good impact on the minds of cricket savvy people.

  • Add Your Comment