ICC Champions Trophy Winners List All Seasons

International Cricket Council has organized many international cricket tournaments, and the ICC Champions Trophy happens to be one of the very popular One Day International (ODI) format cricket tournaments. With the popularity level being very close to the ICC World Cup tournament, the Champions Trophy takes place in different ICC-set venues and apparently the frequency of occurrence of this tournament is once in two years. However, the tournament had begun its journey as the ICC Knock Out Tournament in 1998 and after two successful seasons, the tournament was renamed to ICC Champions Trophy as it is today.


  • The first ever ICC Champions Trophy was held in 1998, with the title ICC Knock Out Tournament.
  • International Cricket Council supervises the whole tournament, and the venues are selected from ICC full member countries.
  • The current number of Champions Trophy playing teams is 8.
  • There wasn’t a tournament in 2015, because ICC decided the 2013 Champions Trophy would be the last and the decision was reversed in January 2014. The next ICC Champions Trophy is due to be held on 2020 at England.
  • Round-robin and knockout are the formats used in Champions Trophy.
  • The most successful teams in the Champions Trophy are India and Australia with each of these teams winning 2 titles each.

Winners by Seasons

ICC Champions Trophy

There had been 7 successful seasons of ICC Champions Trophy in the timeline 1998 to 2013 in 2 years interval. Here’s a complete list and brief overview on the winners of each season.

Season 1 (1998)

Bangladesh was the venue for the first ICC Knock Out Trophy in 1998. The final match was held at Bangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka, Bangladesh. South Africa had won the first title by beating West Indies. The score card was 248/6 in 47 overs for South Africa, and 245 all out in at 49.3 overs for West Indies. The game was attended by apparently 40,000 spectators live.

Season 2 (2000)

Kenya hosted the second match of the ICC Knock Out Tropy in 2000. The final match venue was Gymkhana Club Ground, Nairobi, Kenya. New Zealand had won the title in 2000 scoring 265/6 at 49.4 overs, winning by 4 wickets against India who had scored 264/6 at 50 overs.

Season 3 (2002)

2002 is the first year after the trophy has been renamed to ICC Champions Trophy from ICC Knock Out Trophy. Sri Lanka was the host and the final match of this season took place at R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo, Sri Lanka. Due to heavy rain the match was abandoned and was taken to the reserve day, the game was ended up unfinished and Sri Lanka and India were declared co-champions. Apparently, the third season had no runner-up but two champions.

Season 4 (2004)

The fourth arrangement of the ICC Champions Trophy was held at England at The Oval stadium, London. West Indies and England played against each other and England Score 217 all out at 49.4 overs. West Indies chased the run at 48.5 overs, and won by 2 wickets and became the champion. Around 18,600 spectators watched the match live that day.

Season 5 (2006)

India hosted the fifth season of the ICC Champions Trophy. The final match took place at Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai, India. Australia played against West Indies. West Indies scored 138 all out at 30.4 overs and Australia scored 116/2 at 28.1 overs, Australia won by 8 wickets. Result was determined by D/L method due to inverse weather condition.

Season 6 (2009)

There had been a little break in the schedule as the 2008 tournament took place in 2009. South Africa hosted the tournament, and the final was at SuperSport Park, Centurion, South Africa. Australia played against New Zealand, and Australia won the match by 6 wickets against New Zealand.

Season 7 (2013)

Since the arrangement of Champions Trophy was going through turmoil, there had been a 4 year gap between season 6 and 7. England and Wales jointly hosted the match. India played against England and India won the match by 5 runs. 24,867 was the attendance on this match.


ICC Champions Trophy was about to be written off ICC books, however it had been resurrected for the best interest of cricket enthusiasts. Apparently, the upcoming 2020 season is going to happen with all its due excitement.

  • Add Your Comment