Indian Premier League Winners All Seasons

Indian Premier League is a cricket league being played in India for past couple of years. It began back in 2008 as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has founded the game and various sponsors have come forward to sponsor each of the teams. The players were acquired from cricket teams that play under International Cricket Council (ICC), and through a competitive sorting the players get enlisted in each team.

The first tournament took place in the first year of inauguration, 2008. There had been a champion in each arrangement as described below.

Trivial Facts about IPL

  • Among the cricket tournaments that take place all over the world, Indian Premier League is the most attended.
  • Among all the sports tournaments that happen in planet earth, Indian Premier League ranks the sixth.
  • YouTube broadcasted the IPL tournament live back in 2010. Never before a sporting event was aired on YouTube live, this set a standard for the worldwide sporting tournaments. A lot of other leagues followed IPL’s path later on.
  • The value estimation of IPL is around US$3.5 billion up to last year 2015.

Winners by Season

Apparently, 9 season of the IPL tournament has been held so far and here’s the winners list by each season.

Season 1 (2008) – Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals was the champion in IPL season 1. Final score of the first season finale match was 164/7 in 20 overs; Royals won by 3 wickets. Runners up of the first season was Chennai Super Kings. This match was held at DY Patil Stadium. Most valuable player of Indian Premier League Season 1 was Shane Watson.

Season 2 (2009) – Deccan Chargers

Deccan Chargers

Deccan Chargers won the champions title in the 2nd season of Indian Premier League tournament. Royal Challengers Bangalore played against Deccan Chargers in the 2nd setup, and became Runner Up of the tournament. The final score was 143/6 in 20 overs with Chargers winnings the match by 6 runs. 2009 IPL’s final venue selection was bit different, as it was held in Wanderers Stadium at South Africa.

Season 3 (2010) – Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings won the title of Indian Premier League Season 3 held in 2010, and Mumbai Indians was the Runner Up of the tournament for 2010. Final match score was 168/5 in 20 overs, with Chennai Super Kings winning the match by 22 runs. DY Patil Stadium was the venue for the third season match and Sachin Tendulkar became the most valueable man.

Season 4 (2011) – Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings won yet another IPL title on the 2nd consecutive year on 2011. Score of the final match was 205/5 in 20 overs, and Chennai Super Kings had won the match by 58 runs. Royal Challengers Bangalore was the Runner-Up of the tournament for that year. The match was held at M.A. Chidambaram Stadium. 10 teams played in 2011.

Season 5 ( 2012) – Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Rider won their first Indian Premier League Champions title in 2012 with a score of 192/5 in 19.4 overs. Runner-Up of 2012 season was Chennai Super Kings. 9 teams played in the 5th season, and the final was held at M.A. Chidambaram Stadium.

Season 6 (2013) – Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians won the title with 148/9 scorecard. Chennai Super Kings was the runner up, and the match was held at Eden Gardens.

Season 7 (2014) – Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders won their 2nd IPL Champions title in 2014, and they have beat Kings XI Punjab in the finals. The scorecard was 200/7 in 19.3 overs for KKR and 199/4 for 20 overs for Kings XI Punjab. Venue – M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Season 8 (2015) – Mumbai Indian

Mumbai Indian

Mumbai Indians was the champion of IPL 8th season held in2015 for 202/5 in 20 overs. Mumbai Indians won the game by 41 runs against Chennai Super Kings at Eden Gardens. 8 teams competed in the 8th

Season 9 (2020) – Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad

The 9th season had just been commenced on 2020 and Sunrisers Hyderabad won the title against Royal Challengers Bangalore by 8 runs. The venue of the finals was M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. 8 teams competed in this season.


The next IPL season is due in 2020, and it is certainly going to be a high voltage season like every time. Every cricket enthusiast would certainly be waiting for yet another season of Indian Premier League.

  • Add Your Comment