NatWest T20 Blast Winners List All Seasons

The NatWest T20 Blast is a cricket tournament that is held in England and Wales every year. This tournament follows the Twenty20 format of cricket. The NatWest T20 Blast begun in 2014 by ECB. The set up for this league was announced in November 2013 and the first league was played in 2014. There are 18 countries that participate in this league and the teams are divided into two groups of 9 teams each. The NatWest T20 Blast replaced the Friends Life t20 which was the main competition in England and Wales before NatWest T20 Blast.

The first Twenty20 matches were played in 2003 and it instantly became a huge hit amongst the audiences. This is when the format began to take over tournaments as well as the World Cup. The success of this format could be seen in the match between Middlesex and Surrey in 2004 which had over 26000 people attend it. This was the highest number that any match had ever seen since 1953.

Nat West T20

Friends Provident/FriendLife t20

This tournament was a huge success in England and Wales since it was introduced in 2010. The initial format of the tournament had eighteen countries that were divided into 3 groups of 6 teams each.  The format was later revised when NatWest took over the sponsorship in 2014.

The NatWest t20 Blast has a total of eighteen clubs that compete during the tournament. They are divided into two groups of 9 teams each that compete against 6 of the other teams groups twice. One game will be played at home (On their home ground) and other will be played away (Opposing team’s home ground). These teams play a total of 14 games before they reach the knockout stage where teams are ranked by their total points and the team with the highest point’s proceeds. Only the top four teams move forward.

The semi finals and the finals are played on consecutive days on the same ground. The finals are usually held at Edgabaston.


  • Birmingham Bears: City – Birmingham
  • Derbyshire Falcons: City – Derby
  • Durham Jets: City – Chester-le-Street
  • Essex Eagles: City – Chelmsford
  • Glamorgan: City – Cardiff
  • Gloucestershire: City – Bristol
  • Hampshire: City – Southampton
  • Kent Spitfires: City – Canterbury
  • Lancashire Lightning: City – Manchester
  • Leicestershire Foxes: City – Leicester
  • Middlesex: City – London
  • Northamptonshire Steelbacks: City – Northampton
  • Nottinghamshire Outlaws: City – Nottingham
  • Somerset: City – Taunton
  • Surrey: City – London
  • Sussex Sharks: City – Hove
  • Worcestershire Rapids: City – Worcester
  • Yorkshire Vikings: City – Leeds

The Birmingham Bears are part of the Warwichshire Bears in England that has over 50 teams in its club. This is one of the most successful clubs in England that was founded in 1894. The captain of the Birmingham Bears is Ian Bell and their coach is Dougie Brown. The home ground for this team is Edgbaston.

The Derbyshire Falcons are the local team for Derby. They fall under the Derbyshire County Cricket Club which is a first class country club that has a domestic team to play limited over games. The captain for the Derbyshire Falcons is Wes Durston and their coach is Graeme Welch. Their home ground is County Ground.

The Durham Jets is part of the Durham County Cricket Club in England. This team represents Chester-le-Street and has been a major part of the Twenty20 cricket tournaments since 2003. The captain for Durham Jets is Mark Stoneman and the coach is Jon Lewis. Their home ground is Riverside Ground.

Essex Eagles is the local team for the city of Chelmsford. This team is a part of the Essez County Club which is an A list club in England. The captain for the Essex Eagles is Ravi Bopara and the coach is Chris Silverwood. Their home ground is the County Ground.

Glamorgan is the local team for the city of Cardiff. It is part of the Glamorgan County Cricket Club. The captain for this team is Jacques Rudolph and the coach is Robert Croft. Their home ground is SWALEC Stadium.

Gloucestershire is the local team for the city of Bristol. They are part of the Gloucestershire County Cricket Club. The captain for this team is Michael Klinger, the coach is Richard Dawson and their home ground is Bristol County Ground.

Hampshire is the local team for Southampton which is part of the Hampshire County Cricket Club. The captain for this team is James Vince, the coach is Dale Benkenstein and their home ground is Rose Bowl.

Kent Spitfires is part of the Kent County Cricket Club which represents the local team for Canterbury. The captain for this team is Sam Northeast, the coach is Jimmy Adams and their home ground is St Lawrence Ground.

Lancashire Lightning is the local team for the city of Manchester. The captain for this team is Steven Croft, their coach is Ashley Giles and Old Trafford is their home ground.

Leicestershire Foxes represents the city of Leicester in this tournament. Their captain is Mark Pettini, their coach is Andrew McDonald and their home ground is Grace Road.

Middlesex is one of the two teams to represent London. The captain of this team is Dawid Malan and their coach is Richard Scott. The Lord’s stadium is their home ground.

Northamptonshire Steelbacks represents the city of Northampton. The captain for this team is Alex Wakely, their coach is David Ripley and their home ground is the County Ground.

Nottinghamshire Outlaws represents the city of Nottingham. The captain for this team is Dan Christian, their coach is Mick Newell and their home ground is Trent Bridge.

Somerset represents the city of Taunton in this tournament. Their captain is Jim Allenby, their coach is Matthew Maynard and their home ground is Country Ground. This is one of the three teams to share their home ground.

Surrey is the second team to represent the city of London. The captain for this team is Gareth Batty, their coach is Michael Di Venuto and their home ground is the Oval.

Sussex Sharks represents the city of Hove. Their captain is Luke Wright and their coach is Mark Davis. Their home ground is the County Cricket Ground.

Worcestershire Rapids represents the city of Worcester. Their captain is Daryl Mitchell and their coach is Steve Rhodes. Their home ground is New Road.

The Yorkshire Vikings play for the city of Leeds. Their captain is Alex Lees and their coach is Jason Gillespie. Their home ground is Headingley Carnegie.


Year Winner Runner-up Final Result Final Venue
2014 Birmingham Bears Lancashire Lightning Birmingham Bears won by 4 runs Edgbaston, Birmingham
2015 Lancashire Lightning Northamptonshire Steelbacks Lancashire Lightning won by 13 runs Edgbaston, Birmingham
  • Add Your Comment