Women’s Big Bash League Winner List of All Season

These days, there are a number of national and international sports competitions that are held every single year. There are tournaments for basketball, baseball, football, and cricket. The thing is, these sports leagues are usually being participated by men players. However, do you know that cricket competition is also made available for women? Yes, and it yearly happens in the beautiful country of Australia.

The Twenty20 cricket tournament for women hosted by Australia every year is known as WBBL that stands for Women’s Big Bash League. WNCL Australian Women’s Twenty20 Cup was the original name of WBBL. The management of the competition just decided to change its name due to untold reasons. All in all, there are 8 teams that competes into this sports competition yearly, and these teams come from the eight different major cities in the country.

Women Big Bash League

Knowing the Different WBBL Teams

Needless to say, the WBBL can never be possible without the 8 competing teams from all over Australia. Each team is composed of excellent women cricket players who are more than ready to bring their individual teams into victory. As a matter of fact, all of the teams have foreign import players who are expert enough in this particular exciting sport. Let’s get to know each of the WBBL teams.

  • Adelaide Strikers – Adelaide Strikers is the official WBBL team of the Australian state of South Australia, and it is based in the progressive city of Adelaide. Shelley Nitschke and Andrea McCauley are the coaches of the team, and its team captain is none other than Lauren Ebsary. The foreign imports of the team are Stacy-Ann King, Sophie Devine, and Sarah Taylor.
  • Brisbane Heat – The Brisbane Heat is the pride of the Australian state of Queensland when it comes to WBBL. The team is based in the beautiful city of Brisbane. It is coached by Andy Richards, and captained by Delissa Kimmince and Jodie Fields. The team’s import players are Lauren Winfield and Kate Cross.
  • Hobart HurricanesThe Australian state of Tasmania is very proud to its official WBBL team, which is the Hobart Hurricanes. It is based in the city of Hobart, and it is coached by Julia Price. Its team captain is Heather Knight, whom is one of the team’s foreign import players aside from Hayley Matthews and Amy Satterthwaite.
  • Melbourne Renegades – Melbourne Renegades is coached by Lachlan Stevens, and captained by Sarah Elliott. This is one of the two WBBL franchised teams of the city of Victoria, which represents the Australian state of Victoria. This team has 4 foreign imports and they are Shabnim Ismail, Rachel Priest, Danielle Wyatt, and Dane van Niekerk.
  • Melbourne Stars – The other WBBL franchised team of the city of Melbourne that represents the Australian state of Victoria in the yearly WBBL competition is the Melbourne Stars. Its team captain is Meg Lanning, and it is coached by David Hemp. Hayley Jensen, Morna Nielsen, Mignon du Preez, and Natalie Sciver are the import players of Melbourne Stars.
  • Perth ScorchersAnother participating team in the Twenty20 cricket tournament of Australia is representing the state of West Australia and the city of Perth. This team is known as the Perth Scorchers, which is coached by Mark Atkinson and captained by Nicole Bolton. The team has 5 imports and they are Deandra Dottin, Suzie Bates, Katherine Brunt, Charlotte Edwards, and Nicky Shaw.
  • Sydney Sixers – The Sydney Sixers is representing the Australian state of New South Wales in the yearly WBBL tournament. The team is based in the city of Sydney, and it is coached by Ben Sawyer and Lisa Sthalekar. Ellyse Perry is its team captain. The team’s import players are Marizanne Kapp, Laura Marsh, and Sara McGlashan.
  • Sydney Thunder – One other official WBBL team of New South Wales State and the city of Sydney is the Sydney Thunder. The team captain is Alex Blackwell, and its reliable coach is Paddy Upton. Sydney Thunder has only one import player, whom is Stafanie Taylor.

The Women’s Big Bash League in Australia has already have 5 seasons of tournament and its 6th season will happen this year. If you want to know the champions and the runner ups in every season, then here is the list that you should take into account.

Season 1 (2011-2012)

  • The champion team in this season was none other than Sydney Sixers.
  • The runner up team was the Perth Scorchers.
  • By 7 wickets, Sydney Sixers defeated the Perth Scorchers
  • The championship match happened in the ground of West Australian Cricket Association in the city of Perth.

Season 2 (2012-2013)

  • Brisbane Heat was the victorious team in the 2nd season of WBBL.
  • For the second season, Perth Scorchers once again captured the second place.
  • By 34 runs, the team of Perth Scorchers failed to smash the Brisbane Heat that led to the latter’s victory.
  • West Australian Cricket Association ground in Perth was once again the venue of the championship game.

Season 3 (2013-2014)

  • After securing the 2nd place for two consecutive seasons, the Perth Scorchers finally bagged the championship title in the 3rd season of WBBL.
  • Hobart Hurricanes emerged to be the runner up.
  • By 39 runs, Perth Scorchers got its first championship title.
  • For the 3rd time, the final match happened in the ground of West Australian Cricket Association in the city of Perth.

Season 4 (2014-2015)

  • For the second time, Perth Scorchers was declared as the champion in the season 4 of WBBL.
  • Sydney Sixers turned out to be the runner up.
  • The Perth Scorchers defeated the Sydney Scorchers in the final match by 4 wickets.
  • The championship game was held in the Manuka Oval in the city of Griffith in the Australian State of New South Wales.

Season 5 (2015-2016)

  • The 5th season of the Women’s Big Bash League in Australia was dominated by the Sydney Thunder that successfully grabbed the championship title.
  • Second place in the WBBL’s 5th season was the Melbourne Stars.
  • By 3 wickets, the Sydney Thunder team defeated the team of Melbourne Stars.
  • The final match happened in the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) in the city of Melbourne.
  • Add Your Comment